top of page
  • Rebecca Schwind

Some movies/shows to watch when you're sick

*Father Mulcahy voice* I’ll admit I’m not as prepared as I’d like to be for this week’s blog post… I caught a cold and have been using most of my energy toward getting better. So today's post is a short list of movies or shows that feature characters with colds. They also happen to be great comfort watches when you're sick, too.

You’ve Got Mail
Sometimes it’s hard to watch someone have a cold while I also have one, because the pain is too real. But when Joe Fox shows up with those daisies and makes tea, I’m willing to make the sacrifice.

On the Town
If you get too jealous of Meg Ryan getting visited by Tom Hanks and somehow managing to look adorable surrounded by dirty tissues, Alice Pearce’s Lucy Schmeeler offers someone a little more relatable . I quote her every time I get sick: “I’m sorry, I’ve got to inhale.” “I gotta get some gargle.” All my life I wanted to be Betty Garrett kissing Frank Sinatra in a cute apartment, only to find I’ve become Lucy instead. Where did I go wrong?

I Love Lucy S1.E16: Lucy Fakes Illness
“You may be sick, but at lease you didn’t get the go-bloots from a bu-shu bird.” —Me @ me trying to convince myself I have the energy to get up for food

M*A*S*H
Ironically, or perhaps unironically, this show has been a great comfort to me over the last few years. The characters may be fictional, but it makes me feel better knowing there are such wonderful doctors and surgeons out there. Some of my favorites are The Trial of Henry Blake (S2E8), Movie Tonight (S5E21), Your Hit Parade (S6E18), and The Party (S7E25).

The Brady Bunch S1.E13: Is There a Doctor in the House?
This and the previously mentioned I Love Lucy episode were childhood favorites of mine, for some reason. Keep an eye out for Herbert Anderson (Dennis the Menace) and Marion Ross (Happy Days) playing the doctors. There seemed to be a lot more overlap between actors on the old shows and it’s always fun to spot the guest stars!

If you also happen to have a cold this weekend, I hope these watch options bring you some source of comfort. Feel better soon!
8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Film Review: The Flavor of Green Tea Over Rice (1952)

Last week, I watched The Flavor of Green Tea Over Rice, a postwar Japanese film directed by Yasujiro Ozu. I enjoyed it so much that I watched it twice, and am already looking forward to seeing it agai

bottom of page